Were you accused of driving while intoxicated in Balch Springs, Texas? If so, contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253. Our founder, Randall B. Isenberg, has been a prosecutor, a judge, and a defense attorney during his more than 30 years in the legal field. A Balch Springs DWI lawyer from our firm can help you understand and defend your rights and fight against onerous penalties. Call us for a free consultation today.
DWI Is a Serious Offense
“DWI” stands for “driving while intoxicated.” It is distinct from DUI (driving under the influence), with which only minors can be charged. You can, however, be charged with DWI even if you are a minor. It is up to the arresting officer to decide how to handle each individual case.
If a police officer suspects that you are driving while intoxicated, they have every right to pull you over and ask for a blood and/or breathalyzer test. If they find your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit (0.08 percent or higher), or if you refuse to take the test, you risk losing your license, going to jail, and more.
In addition to the penalties discussed below, a DWI conviction can permanently damage your reputation. Anyone who finds out about your conviction—either from knowing you personally or looking at your criminal record—could make snap judgments about you. If they are in a position to do so, they may even deny you access to the jobs, schools, or apartments that you want.
What can you do to protect yourself if you have been charged with DWI? You may need to build a strong defense to prove either your innocence (or at least introduce reasonable doubt in the jury’s minds), police error or misconduct, or both. A Balch Springs DWI lawyer can build your case on your behalf.
DWI Penalties Are Very Serious
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS), your first DWI offense is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. This means, if convicted, you face such penalties as:
- A fine of up to $2,000
- 3 days to 6 months in jail
- Up to 1 year without your driver’s license
As the TxDPS states, you may also have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car. All of these penalties get more serious (higher fines, more time in jail, and so on) the more times you are convicted of DWI. A second offense, for example, is a Class A misdemeanor and carries potential penalties like:
- A fine of up to $4,000
- 30 days to 1 year in jail
- Up to 2 years without your driver’s license
The above information only applies if your case is not complicated by additional charges. Alcohol-related additional charges that you may face are listed at Texas Penal Code §49. They include:
- Having an open container of alcohol in the car
- Driving with a child (anyone under 15) in the car
- Seriously injuring another person
- Killing another person
The penalties for these charges vary, but they always make the consequences you face harsher, not lighter.
No matter how straightforward or complicated your case is, the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg wants to defend you. We can help you to understand and defend your rights, make the right legal decisions for you, and try to avoid the worst of the penalties associated with DWI. Call us at (214) 696-9253 at any time, day or night, to get started.
How a Lawyer Can Fight for You
You already know that a DWI conviction can affect multiple aspects of your life, some of them permanently. To keep that from happening, you will want to do everything possible to build up a strong defense. A lawyer can form a big part of that defense. They may take steps such as the following to pursue the best possible outcome in your case.
Step One: Investigate the Incident
The police have already investigated your case and made up their minds about what happened. Your lawyer will conduct their own investigation with the goal of making sure the law deals with you fairly. For example, the arresting officer may not have followed proper procedure when pulling you over or arresting you, or you may have had some non-alcoholic substance in your system that affected the blood test results.
Step Two: Use Evidence to Build Your Case
Depending on what information comes to light during step one, your lawyer may decide to approach your case in one of several ways.
In some cases, it may be possible to reduce your charges so that, in the event you are convicted, you will face more lenient penalties. In other cases, your lawyer can seek a complete dismissal of all charges.
Step Three: Argue Your Case
Sometimes, we are able to come to an agreement with the judge out of court. Other times, we have to deliver arguments and present evidence before a jury. We do not shy away from either scenario. Your lawyer will fight as long and as hard as necessary.
Facing DWI charges is scary, whether this is your first, second, or third offense. A Balch Springs DWI lawyer from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg is here for you. We always make sure that you understand and have a say in what is happening with your case, and we always fight hard in your defense. Contact us at (214) 696-9253 to get started or to find out more. We will evaluate your case at no cost or obligation to you.