According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 2.1% of Texas drivers admit to drinking too much before driving. Because Texas is serious about putting a stop to underage drinking, a DUI arrest and possible conviction can be a costly situation for young drivers. It can revoke your driving privileges soon after receiving them and lead to criminal penalties of varying degrees.
In addition, a conviction might lead to legal penalties for your parents, depending on your age, and to additional societal, community, and employment consequences for you. Our legal team might be able to help you minimize the potential damage of a first or subsequent conviction.
Protect your present and future, get a fresh start, and put your life back on track with the assistance of a Colleyville under 21 DUI lawyer. Get in touch with the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, and call us at (214) 696-9253 today for a free consultation.
Texas Is a Zero Tolerance State
Underage drinking in Colleyville is a serious offense with significant consequences. When combined with driving, it can lead to additional driving and criminal penalties. According to the Zero Tolerance policy outlined in the Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division (DPS), an underage driver might be considered under the influence if any amount of alcohol is found in their system.
A DUI charge is a designation reserved for underage drivers in Texas. It is a traffic ticket that involves a 60-day suspension of your driving privileges. You should be aware that under certain circumstances, you might be charged with a DWI versus DUI, which might carry even harsher penalties.
DUI Penalties for Drivers up to 17 Years of Age
DUI penalties in Texas are assigned according to the age of the driver. If you were under the age of 17 at the time of your arrest, a conviction might result in the following sentences and financial penalties:
- A first offense is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by fines of up to $500, up to 40 community service hours, a driver’s license suspension for up to 6 months, and mandated attendance at an alcohol awareness course for you and possibly for your parents.
- A second offense is also a Class C misdemeanor punishable by fines of up to $500, as many as 60 community service hours, a suspended driver’s license for up to 2 years, and mandatory attendance at an alcohol awareness course.
- A third offense might result in a delinquent conduct charge, fines up to $500, community service for up to 60 hours, and a suspended license of up to 2 years.
The legal ramifications of an under 21 DUI for drivers younger than 17 might also lead to negative consequences for their parents. Our legal team might be able to help you limit the legal and community damage to yourself and your parents.
DUI Penalties for Drivers Between 17 and 21 Years of Age
If you were between the ages of 17 and 21 at the time of your DUI arrest, you may face harsher penalties than older drivers. For this conviction:
- A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor with a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days of incarceration, and a suspended license for 1 year.
- A second offense is a Class A misdemeanor with a fine of up to $4,000 and incarceration from 30 days to up to 1 year, and a suspended license up to 18 months.
- A third offense is a third-degree felony with a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment of up to 10 years, and a suspended license for up to 2 years.
A Colleyville under 21 DUI lawyer might be able to help you by ensuring your rights were not violated during your arrest or by negotiating a plea agreement or sentence reduction on your behalf. Contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg by calling (214) 696-9253 today.
Fight Back with Help from an Under 21 DUI Lawyer
Fighting an under 21 DUI arrest and conviction on your own might be challenging. You might benefit from the guidance and direction of our supportive team. While any detectable trace of alcohol in your system might warrant an under 21 DUI arrest, our team might challenge the validity of a field sobriety test of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level by:
- Ensuring probable cause existed for your arrest
- Challenging the validity of BAC testing equipment
- Negotiating a plea bargain or reduction in charges
You do not have to fight for your future and your driving benefits alone. There may be additional ways your pending criminal case might benefit from the assistance of our criminal defense team.
For a free legal consultation with a Under 21 DUI Lawyer serving Colleyville, call (214) 696-9253
Added Costs of an Under 21 DUI
On top of the embarrassment of an arrest, you might face additional consequences beyond the legal penalties. If your goal is to continue your education, a conviction might hinder your ability to benefit from federal student financial aid, according to U.S. Department of Education information. Similarly, Federal Trade Commission (FTC) guidelines might bar you from your preferred choice of housing.
Additionally, some potential employers may choose to conduct background checks, and you might be barred from certain job or career choices that require a valid or clean driver’s license. Our under 21 DUI team might be able to help you avoid a criminal conviction that leads to these unpleasant results.
Protect Your Current and Future Driving Privileges
If you are facing an alcohol-related arrest and conviction, you might also be facing the temporary loss of your driver’s license, possible incarceration, and hefty fines. A Colleyville under 21 DUI lawyer might be able to help you navigate the harmful consequences of your current situation.
Randall Isenberg has more than 30 years of experience in a career as both a former prosecutor and state district judge. When you are ready to let that experience work to your advantage, reach out to the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg by calling (214) 696-9253 today.