A DWI charge is a serious one, and it may be in your interest to fight back. You do not have to go ahead and forge a defense on your own, though. Instead, you can call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253 to ask for a free case evaluation with a member of our team. We can let you know more about your legal options and how a Duncanville DWI lawyer from our firm may be able to assist you.
Our lead attorney Randall B. Isenberg has over 30 years of experience in the legal field. He has worked as both a State District Trial Judge and a Senior Chief Felony Prosecutor during this time. Let us put this knowledge and experience to work so that we can help you fight back against your DWI charge.
Charges in DWI Cases
Charges and penalties in a DWI case can depend on a number of factors, including:
- Whether there was an open container in the vehicle
- Whether a minor was in the car
- Whether or not this is the first DWI charge for the driver
- If drugs were present in the vehicle
- Whether the driver was involved in a motor vehicle accident before being pulled over
Any of these factors could complicate your case and may lead to harsher penalties and additional charges.
Legal Consequences of DWI in Texas
The state of Texas takes DWI charges seriously and thus assigns some harsh penalties, even to first-time offenders. If you have been charged with a DWI, these are some of the punishments that may be on the table:
For a free legal consultation with a DWI Lawyer serving Duncanville, call (214) 696-9253
Even a first-time conviction can result in a hefty fine. A first-offense DWI carries a fine of up to $2,000. For a second-offense DWI, the fine may increase to $4,000. For a third-offense DWI, it may go up to $10,000.
If there is an open container in the car, the DWI is now a Class A misdemeanor. This could mean a fine of up to $4,000. This may also be your punishment if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15% or greater at the time of your arrest.
If you have a minor in the car with you at the time of your DWI arrest, you may also be charged with child endangerment, according to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).
Duncanville DWI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
A first-offense DWI can result in up to 6 months of jail time. However, there is a mandatory minimum jail time required for this charge. A second-offense DWI carries a mandatory minimum of 72 hours of jail time and could mean up to 1 year in jail. A third-offense DWI can result in up to 10 years in prison time.
Click to contact our DWI Lawyers today
Loss of License
If you are convicted of a DWI, the state essentially determines that you are not responsible enough to operate a motor vehicle. Your license can be taken away for 1 year or longer, depending on your charge and the circumstances of your arrest. We probably do not have to tell you how inconvenient this can be and what kind of obstacles not being able to drive can create in your life.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
The Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) also outlines some other types of punishments that are common in DWI cases. If convicted, you may be required to attend an alcohol education program and serve probation. You may also be required to install a special ignition device on your vehicle that would prevent you from starting your vehicle if you are impaired.
If your DWI involved an accident that injured someone, your charge may be elevated to a felony. This conviction cannot be removed from your record.
Other Consequences to Consider
There are not just legal consequences to consider with a DWI. A DWI conviction can have far-reaching effects on many other areas of your life. Consequences of a conviction can include:
- Prejudice being held against you in family matters, including custody battles
- Loss of your job or facing an increased difficulty of obtaining a new one
- More difficulty obtaining housing or a loan
- Damage to your reputation
To learn about how the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg may be able to defend you against consequences such as these, call our client intake team today at (214) 696-9253.
What a DWI Lawyer Can Do for You
When you hire a Duncanville DWI lawyer from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we can handle every aspect of your case for you. This may include:
There is evidence against you in this case, but your lawyer may be able to gather “counter-evidence” that shows that this evidence is not as rock-solid as a prosecutor would like to claim. This may include evidence that the police had no good reason to pull you over or evidence that you have a medical condition that may have presented like inebriation.
Keeping Your Legal Interests in Mind
A lawyer can fight for you at every stage of your case. They can give you legal advice, defend your rights, and do their best to fight for a positive outcome on your behalf.
Fight to Have Your Charges Dropped
A lawyer can work to try to have the charges against you dropped. If this is not possible, they may be able to negotiate a reduced sentence or punishment with the prosecution or judge.
Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg Today
You do not need to face a DWI charge alone. A Duncanville DWI lawyer from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg can stand by your side and defend your rights.
Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253 for your free case evaluation with a member of our team.