An underage driver in Frisco, TX can get charged with DWI the same as an adult can. If convicted, they face the same possibility of fines, jail time, and driver’s license suspension — plus the added concern of losing out on college admissions, scholarship opportunities, and other future plans due to having a criminal record.
If you or your child is facing underage DWI charges in Frisco, an underage DWI lawyer in Frisco, TX from The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg can help you fight them and move forward with your life. We fight aggressively for the rights of the accused. To receive a free case evaluation with a member of our staff, call us at 214-696-9253.
Texas DWI Laws
Texas has the same blood-alcohol content (BAC) limit of 0.08% for drivers as most other states in the country. But if you are under the legal drinking age of 21, the legal limit drops to 0.00%. In other words, any amount of alcohol in your system, even 0.01% or less, can result in a DWI charge when you are underage.
The state also has zero tolerance for drug intoxication among drivers. If a drug test shows even a trace amount of an illegal substance in your system, you can get slapped with a DWI for drug intoxication.
Even if you pass a BAC evaluation and do not test positive for drugs in your system, law enforcement officers in Texas can still arrest you for DWI if you show visible signs of intoxication, such as an unsteady gate, slurred speech, or bloodshot eyes.
A DWI is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas, but any number of aggravating factors, such as multiple offenses, a high BAC, or a minor passenger in your car, can bump it up to a Class A misdemeanor or even a felony charge.
Underage DWI Penalties in Frisco, TX
If you get charged with DWI in Frisco, TX, while underage, the state does not give you a break because of your youth. The penalties are the same as for adult drivers and may include:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Loss of driver’s license for up to one year
- A fee of up to $2,000 per year for three years to reinstate your license
If your BAC is below 0.08%, the arresting officer has the option to charge you with DUI rather than driving under influence (DWI). DUI is a lesser offense carrying less-severe penalties, and it is specifically reserved for underage drivers who have alcohol in their system but not enough to reach the adult legal limit of 0.08%.
The penalties for an underage DUI include:
- A fine of up to $500
- Loss of driver’s license for up to 60 days
- Up to 40 hours of community service
- Alcohol abuse education
An underage DWI conviction in Frisco, TX, can haunt you for years to come, long after you have exited your teen years and settled into adult life. It can keep you from obtaining affordable car insurance — a task already tricky enough for drivers under 25. It can prevent you from getting hired for a job that involves driving.
A DWI on your record may even cause colleges that were considering accepting you to change their minds, or to rescind their offer of admission. Many college scholarships stipulate that you cannot have a criminal record to receive them; you may miss out on those opportunities with a DWI.
If you plan to join the military, get a job out of high school, or travel the world, a DWI conviction may affect all these opportunities. Certain countries, most notably Canada, make it exceedingly difficult to cross their borders if you have been convicted of drunk driving in the United States.
How We Defend You Against Underage DWI Charges in Frisco, TX
An underage DWI lawyer in Frisco, TX at The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg can review the details of your case and put together a strong defense strategy, one offering the best possibility of beating your underage DWI charge so you can move on with your future.
We have several strategies we can use:
Lack of Reasonable Suspicion
As we investigate your case, we may find that the officer lacked reasonable suspicion to pull you over in the first place. If so, any evidence they collected after that fact is inadmissible in court. The prosecutor or judge will often drop the charges if we can prove no reasonable suspicion existed.
Lack of Probable Cause
Once the officer pulls you over, whether they had reasonable suspicion or not, they must have probable cause to demand that you submit to a BAC test. Again, if we can show they lacked this, we can get the results of the test invalidated.
For a free legal consultation with a Underage DWI Lawyer serving Frisco, call (214) 696-9253
Breach of Protocol
In Texas, arresting officers must follow a rigid protocol when administering a BAC test. If we can produce evidence that they deviated from it in any way, we can have the test thrown out.
Frisco Underage DWI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
If we do not have a compelling defense, or if the prosecution’s evidence against you is overwhelming, we are often better off approaching them with the offer of a plea bargain. The way it works is that we agree to have you plead guilty to a lesser charge, such as reckless or careless driving. This charge will carry lesser penalties and will not have the same long-term impact on your record as a DWI.
Randall Isenberg has worked in the Texas court system for over 30 years. He has spent time as a prosecutor and a district judge. He understands how the other side works and how to negotiate with them for the best outcome. Whether it makes more sense to plead not guilty or offer a plea bargain, our team can give you the best chance of getting through this issue with the least impact on your future.
Call 214-696-9253 for a Free Underage DWI Case Evaluation with The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg
Attorney Randall Isenberg and his team want to get to work on your underage DWI case today. An underage DWI lawyer in Frisco, TX can help you or your child beat this charge and preserve your future. For a free consultation, call us at 214-696-9253.