Texas takes all instances of drunk driving seriously, but the law is particularly severe when it comes to drivers under the legal drinking age of 21. In an effort to send a message to young drivers that the state tolerates no level of intoxicated driving, Texas has a zero-tolerance rule for underage drivers. A single drop of alcohol in a young driver’s system can result in a DUI charge.
If you or your child is facing DUI charges, an under 21 DUI lawyer in Frisco, TX can help. Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today. Our dedicated legal team fights for drivers accused of alcohol-related offenses and can help you avoid a conviction and the severe consequences that come with it. We offer a free consultation and case evaluation. To speak with a member of our staff, call 214-696-9253.
DUI vs. DWI in Texas
Like most states, Texas considers any driver intoxicated who has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. You are also legally intoxicated in Texas if you drive with any amount of illegal drugs in your system, including marijuana.
If you exhibit signs of intoxication, such as an unsteady gait or slurred speech, Texas law enforcement officers have the discretion to charge you with driving while intoxicated (DWI) even if your BAC is below 0.08 percent.
While the legal limit in Texas is 0.08 percent for adults, drivers under 21 cannot have any alcohol in their system. Even a BAC of 0.01 percent is sufficient for driving under the influence (DUI) charges. A young driver with a BAC above 0.00 percent but lower than 0.08 percent usually gets charged with DUI rather than DWI. As a Class C misdemeanor, DUI is a slightly lesser offense — but it can still lead to serious, long-lasting consequences.
Penalties for DUI in Frisco, TX
Getting caught driving with alcohol in your system under the age of 21 can lead to severe consequences:
- A fine of up to $500
- Loss of driver’s license for up to 60 days
- Community service
- Alcohol abuse education
These penalties differ from the harsher DWI penalties which include:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Loss of driver’s license for up to 1 year
- A fee of up to $2,000 per year for 3 years to reinstate your license
You or your child may find that a DWI or DUI conviction affects them long after they have paid the legal penalties. A drunk driving charge on your record can make it impossible to find affordable auto insurance — especially during your teens and early 20s when rates are already higher than for older drivers.
A criminal record may also keep you from passing a background check for a job. If you are applying to colleges, an alcohol-related charge may cause your application to get rejected by certain schools or may make you ineligible for scholarships and financial aid opportunities.
An under 21 DUI lawyer in Frisco, TX from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg can help you or your child move past any alcohol-related charges they are facing. To receive a free consultation, call us today at 214-696-9253.
Defense Strategies to Avoid an Under 21 DWI Conviction in Frisco, TX
Lack of Reasonable Suspicion
We may be able to show that the officer lacked reasonable suspicion to pull you over to begin with. If we can make this case, then any evidence they obtained during the traffic stop becomes inadmissible, and we can often get the case dismissed.
Lack of Probable Cause
If the officer did not have probable cause to test your BAC, then the results of any blood or breath test you took are not admissible in court. We may be able to get the charges dropped by showing evidence of a lack of probable cause.
For a free legal consultation with a Under 21 DUI Lawyer serving Frisco, call (214) 696-9253
Failure to Follow Proper Protocol
A BAC test is only admissible if proper protocol was followed in administering it. We will investigate and search for evidence of a breach of proper procedure.
Frisco Under 21 DUI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
In the event the evidence against you or your child is overwhelming, we can approach the prosecutor and try to work out a plea deal, usually involving a guilty plea to a lesser charge.
With Randall Isenberg’s many years spent working as a prosecutor and district court judge in the Texas court system, he knows how to work with the other side when it is in the best interest of his clients.
Get Help from an Under 21 DUI Lawyer in Frisco. Call 214-696-9253 Today.
No matter the specific circumstances of your or your child’s DUI charges, it is essential to do everything possible to avoid a conviction, an outcome that can have a long-term ripple effect.
Attorney Randall Isenberg and his team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg have helped many under-21 drivers charged with DWI or DUI in Frisco, TX, avoid losing their licenses and having a criminal record. An under 21 DUI lawyer in Frisco, TX wants to put our resources to work for you. For a free consultation with a member of our team, call 214-696-9253 today.