If you cause an accident while driving drunk — especially if the accident causes damage or injuries — you could end up behind bars for years or even decades.
To protect your legal rights and learn more about your options, talk to a DWI involving an accident, wreck, or injury lawyer in Denton before giving any statements to the police or making any decisions about your future.
Attorney Randall Isenberg brings more than three decades of experience to bat for you, including time spent as a chief felony prosecutor and state district court judge.
Contact our office today at 214-696-9253 to schedule a complimentary consultation.
How Do the Penalties for a DWI Accident Differ from a Typical DWI?
The Texas Penal Code establishes penalties for drunk driving in Texas, as well as for the results of a DWI wreck that causes damage or injuries.
For a DWI charge, the penalties depend on whether you have any prior offenses as well as any potential aggravating circumstances associated with your arrest.
A first offense DWI carries the potential of six months in jail, a $2,000 fine, and a potential year-long suspension of your driver’s license. A second offense DWI can mean up to 12 months in jail, a $4,000 fine, and a potential two-year suspension of your license.
For a third (or subsequent) DWI, you could face fines of $10,000 and up to 10 years in prison.
If you had an open container or a passenger below the age of 14 in your car at the time, or if you had a BAC of 0.15 or higher, you will face aggravated charges and even more severe penalties.
For a DWI accident with property damage, the prosecutor will press charges that depend on the nature of the damage and the dollar value associated with it. This may lead to charges of criminal mischief, reckless damage, or destruction, all of which carry the possibility for a felony conviction.
The prosecutor can charge you with intoxication assault if your DWI accident caused a serious injury. If a fatality resulted, you will face intoxication manslaughter charges.
What Charges Will You Face for a DWI Accident with Injury in Denton?
If you cause an accident with serious injury while driving drunk, you will face felony intoxication assault charges — a second- or third-degree felony, depending on the circumstances.
For a second-degree felony intoxication assault, you face a mandatory prison term of two years, but could be behind bars for up to 20 years. You will face a $10,000 fine and a two-year suspension of your driver’s license. You must pay all court costs and fees and attend mandatory alcohol safety awareness classes.
You may also receive probation and up to 1,000 hours of community service. You must install an ignition interlock on your vehicle and the judge may require you to go to rehab or counseling.
To reinstate your license, you must pay a $1,000-$2,000 surcharge each year for a total of three years.
What Charges Will You Face for a DWI Wreck with a Fatality?
If your DWI accident caused a fatality, the prosecutor will pursue felony charges for intoxication manslaughter. These charges, either a second- or first-degree felony depending on the circumstances, could put you in prison for life.
You will face a $10,000 fine, a two-year suspension of your license, and the likelihood of probation, community service, and substance abuse counseling.
How Can a DWI Accident Lawyer Help You?
When facing charges as serious as these, a DWI criminal defense lawyer can provide invaluable services to help protect your legal rights and fight for your future.
The legal team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg will ensure you understand how a conviction will affect your future and review all potential options with you.
We will immediately go to work reviewing the evidence in your case. Any violations of your legal rights or errors made by the police can provide us with a powerful bargaining tool, potentially convincing the prosecutor to reduce the charges.
We will also call on our extensive network of experts and investigators to build the strongest possible case, in the event your case does go to trial.
The prosecution must prove every element of your case beyond a reasonable doubt. It must prove that you drove a vehicle in public while legally intoxicated. But, more importantly, it must prove that you caused the accident — and that the accident itself caused the damage or injury in question.
Other potential challenges our legal team may mount in your defense include questioning the legality and accuracy of BAC testing. Any problems with the chemical testing process or the handling of evidence could lead to a judge declaring that evidence inadmissible in court.
We will identify the best legal strategies based on the individual facts of your case, and help you choose the best course of action for your freedom and your future.
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Denton DWI Accident Lawyer Today
Facing these serious charges without an attorney on your side can put your entire future at risk. Fortunately, you can meet with our legal team without cost or obligation. This gives you the opportunity to learn more about how we can help you — for free.
For more than 30 years, Attorney Randall Isenberg has helped clients facing serious DWI-related charges. His time working as a felony prosecutor and state judge gives him and his team the knowledge necessary to prepare your defense and fight for the best possible outcome.
Contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at 214-696-9253 to schedule your complimentary consultation and case review. If you are currently in custody or cannot otherwise meet in our offices, we will come to you. Do not hesitate; call today.