DWI Reduction Lawyer In Frisco

A DWI conviction can lead to jail time, massive fines, loss of driver’s license, and a permanent criminal record. Ask anyone who has been through it, and they will tell you — Texas is not the state where you want a DWI conviction. The penalties are severe, and the judges are not known to have much leeway. But a DWI reduction lawyer in Frisco, TX can help.

At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we fight for the rights of the accused. Our founding attorney has worked in the Texas court system for 30 years, spending time as both a prosecutor and district judge. He knows how to cut deals with the other side and can help you get your DWI charge reduced, resulting in less lasting damage to your life and career. For a free, no-risk case evaluation, call us today at 214-696-9253.

Why Fight to Reduce Your DWI Charge in Frisco, TX

A DWI conviction can affect every aspect of your life. You can end up in jail and without a driver’s license for a first offense, even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was not exceptionally high. Your troubles may not end there, either. With a DWI in your background, you may have trouble getting car insurance, renting an apartment, interviewing for a job, or getting approved by a homeowners’ association.

The specific consequences for DWI in Texas depend on several factors — for instance, your criminal history, your BAC, and any extenuating or mitigating factors surrounding the offense. The standard penalties for DWI convictions are as follows.

For a first DWI conviction:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • A jail sentence of up to 180 days
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to 1 year
  • A fine of up to $2,000 per year for 3 years to reinstate driving privileges

For a second DWI conviction:

  • A fine of up to $4,000
  • A jail sentence of up to 1 year
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years
  • A fine of up to $2,000 per year for 3 years to reinstate driving privileges
  • Ignition interlock device installed on vehicle

A third DWI conviction:

  • A felony conviction
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • A jail sentence of up to 10 years
  • Loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years
  • A fine of up to $2,000 per year for 3 years to reinstate driving privileges
  • Ignition interlock device installed on vehicle

Several factors may enhance your charges, resulting in a lengthier jail sentence or larger fine. These include being involved in an accident, injuring or killing another person, or having a minor under 15 in your car while intoxicated.

Texas is an implied consent state. If a police officer has probable cause to request that you take a BAC test, you must do so or risk having your license suspended. Even if you ultimately get cleared of DWI, you can still lose your license for refusing a BAC test in Texas.

To see how a DWI reduction lawyer can help with your specific situation, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at 214-696-9253.

Ways to Reduce a DWI Charge in Frisco, TX

Your DWI lawyer can decide based on the details of your case and the strength of the prosecution’s evidence how to go about seeking a DWI reduction.

Reckless Driving

A common method for reducing a DWI charge in Texas is to agree to plea down to reckless driving. Rather than the penalties imposed for DWI, you will face up to a $200 fine and a maximum of 30 days in jail.

Obstruction of Passageway

While obstruction of passageway is a class B misdemeanor like DWI, it has a lesser effect over time. You will not have the same kind of permanent record as you would with a DWI. If the prosecutor knows there are holes in the case against you, they may agree to this reduction simply to get a conviction.

Other Lesser Traffic Violations

In some cases, your lawyer may be able to get your DWI charge dropped by having you agree to plead guilty to the traffic violation that led the officer to pull you over in the first place.

Eliminating Enhanced Charges

If your DWI has an enhanced charge, such as carrying a passenger under 15 or having a BAC above 0.15 percent, your lawyer may be able to cut a deal with the prosecutor to have the enhancement dropped.

Reducing Felony DWI to Misdemeanor DWI

The difference between a felony DWI and a misdemeanor DWI conviction is monumental. If you are facing felony DWI charges for a third or subsequent offense, or because you have an enhancement that bumps your charges up from a misdemeanor, your lawyer may be able to convince the prosecutor to lower the felony charge.

Defense Strategies for DWI Reduction in Frisco, TX

If the prosecutor does not agree to accept a reduced charge, we can take your case to a jury trial.

There are several defense strategies your lawyer can use to poke holes in the prosecutor’s case and create reasonable doubt.

Lack of Reasonable Suspicion

If the police officer did not have reasonable suspicion to pull you over in the first place, everything that happened after that point may be inadmissible in court.

Lack of Probable Cause

If after pulling you over, the officer did not have probable cause to request that you undergo BAC testing, we can have the results of the test thrown out.

Lack of Admissible Evidence

If the officer did not follow proper protocol in administering BAC testing, we may also be able to invalidate the results.

To See How a DWI Reduction Lawyer in Frisco Can Help You, Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg: 214-696-9253

If you are facing DWI charges in Frisco, TX, a criminal defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg can help you get the charge dropped or reduced to a lesser crime, allowing you to avoid jail time, loss of license, and a permanent criminal record. Our team offers a free, no-risk case evaluation. Call today: 214-696-9253.

Need Legal Representation ? We Can Help You Build a Defense Send us a message below and one of our staff members will get back to you as soon as possible.