If you’ve been charged with intoxication manslaughter in Coppell, TX, the sad reality is that time is not on your side. While you’re trying to figure out what your first move should be, the state is already building a case against you. The prosecution will do all it can to levy heavy fines against you, get your license suspended, and even put you in jail for years to come.
You need an attorney on your side who understands the gravity of the situation as well as the available avenues to pursue a positive outcome. Our team of intoxication manslaughter lawyers is up to the task and ready to hear your side of the story. Get started today with your quick, no-cost, and no-obligation consultation.
You Should Know What Goes On Behind the Scenes
There are plenty of attorneys who claim that they can win without a track record of success behind them to back up their claims. You shouldn’t have to settle for an attorney who’s using you as a guinea pig to gain experience or build their firm. With a charge of this magnitude, you need to know a few things upfront.
You’ll want to ask the firm if they’ve tried a case like this before. If they have, they should be willing and able to provide you with a summary of previous case results. Our team has given many people the opportunity for a second chance with results like these:
- 3rd DWI reduced to a misdemeanor
- Felony DWI reduced to a misdemeanor
- Third-degree felony, 3rd DWI with elevated Blood Alcohol Concentration reduced to a misdemeanor
We hope we can fight for a second chance for you, too. We will use our past experience to create a strong case for your defense and protect your rights during the process.
What Does the Texas Penal Code Say About Intoxication Manslaughter?
Texas penal code 49.08 provides clear guidance on what constitutes an intoxication manslaughter charge as well as some of the legal consequences that a defendant might face should they be convicted.
In order to fall under this law, the accident in question must have come as a result of your intoxication. If the state cannot prove that you were intoxicated, or they cannot prove that your intoxication caused the crash, your charges may be dropped.
Intoxication manslaughter differs from vehicular manslaughter in that the latter involves either negligent or reckless behavior, while the former must include some manner of intoxication. This charge also differs from intoxication assault, where someone causes another person accidental injury while intoxicated and behind the wheel.
What Are Some of the Legal Sanctions Involved in Intoxication Manslaughter?
You might be wondering why it matters which attorney ends up representing you in court. When you consider that a conviction could result in thousands of dollars in fines, suspension or revocation of your driving privileges, and the possibility of decades in jail, it’s clear that representation matters.
Texas considers intoxication manslaughter a second-degree felony, which means that along with the potential for community service and getting your driver’s license taken away, you could also end up with:
- Legal fines of up to $10,000
- Mandatory jail time, between 2 and 20 years
Because of this, your lawyer will take every opportunity to either get your charges dropped before you go to court, fight to secure an acquittal on your behalf, or reduce the severity of your charges and consequences. This might seem a daunting task depending on your circumstances, but it is possible.
Coppell ntoxication Manslaughter Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
How Could An Intoxication Manslaughter Lawyer Secure a Positive Outcome?
The most significant portion of the law that covers intoxication manslaughter is that the prosecution must be able to prove these three things beyond a reasonable doubt:
- You caused the accident.
- You were intoxicated at the time of the accident.
- Your intoxication was the primary factor.
If your attorney can disprove any of these things or even introduce reasonable doubt, they could secure a positive outcome for you. Even Breathalyzer results are not as iron-clad as they may seem. Machines falter, and officers administer improper field sobriety tests all the time.
Beyond poor testing procedures, your rights could have been violated. Perhaps the police didn’t read you your rights, or they searched your vehicle without either permission or probable cause. In this situation, any evidence they might have against you would be inadmissible in court.
Your lawyer might also be able to show that either the other driver was at fault for the accident or that some other external factor caused this. For example, you might have been driving in icy conditions, which could be found to have been the primary factor involved, even if you were intoxicated at the time of the crash.
Click to contact our ntoxication Manslaughter Lawyers today
Charges Don’t Have to Become Convictions
It’s all too easy to feel overwhelmed right now, and even to assume that you have no chance of walking free after what has happened. You might feel intimidated by the police and the prosecution and assume that you will be convicted.
The good news is that even if the prosecution has a strong case against you, there is hope for your future. Your attorneys will do everything that is legally in their power to fight for a second chance for you, including for lessened penalties if a guilty plea is your best option.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Why Should I Go With the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg?
Randall B. Isenberg is a seasoned attorney and judge who understands what goes into a successful defense. Along the way, he’s secured dozens of positive outcomes for his clients and built a team of skilled attorneys who also have impressive track records of success.
There’s much that we can and will do to prove your innocence or fight for your best chance at freedom. Even if the evidence seems damning, we can scrutinize police reports and question the order of events as presented by the prosecution.
Get Started With a Free Consultation
It might not seem possible now, but you can move on and reclaim your life. With a simple phone call and a free consultation, you can begin again.
Call or text (214) 696-9253 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form