After an arrest due to a DWI charge, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253. We have handled many similar cases for our clients and produced positive outcomes whereby the prosecutor lessened the punishment or terminated the charges altogether. We investigate the evidence in the hope that justice prevails.
Evidence varies with charges. However, obtaining photos of the arrest area and CCTV footage necessitates quick action. We will have an initial consultation session whereby we will describe the procedure we will follow and all possible defenses to your DWI charges.
Why You May Consider Hiring a Mesquite Felony DWI Lawyer
Felony DWI charges are serious and can lead to life-changing circumstances for many people. People who are charged with felony DWI charges have a lot at stake, such as:
- Their professional and personal reputation
- Their driver license
- Their civil rights
These individuals also face:
- Having to pay court and administration
- Considerable monetary penalties
- Significant terms of imprisonment
According to Sec. 49.02 of the Texas Penal Code, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is usually a misdemeanor offense. However, some circumstances can elevate these charges to felonies. The prosecutor might present DWI charges as a felony if:
- It is your 3rd DWI charge: If you have more than two prior DWI convictions, the prosecution may prefer to charge you with a felony charge. If you are convicted, you could lose your driver’s license for not more than two years, pay a fine, perform community service, or serve a prison sentence.
- It is an accident resulting in injury: If you are arrested for driving a vehicle under the influence of substances, you might face additional felony DWI charges (if you are under suspicion of causing an accident that resulted in severe injuries to the victims). These consequences include court-ordered community service, up to $10,000 in fines and fees, driver’s license suspension or revocation, and up to 10 years in state prison.
- An accident results in wrongful death: In Texas, a DWI wrongful death accident is referred to as “intoxication manslaughter,” which is a 2nd-degree felony offense whose charges put you at risk of serving 20 years in state prison.
- DWI with a child passenger: If the police arrest you for allegations of DWI or DUI with a minor passenger in the vehicle, you risk a state jail felony. By itself, the charge is indictable by at least six months to two years in jail. According to Texas law, a child passenger is any person below the age of 15.
If you are facing such charges, do not suffer in silence. We have spent years handling such cases, so you can rest easy as a Mesquite felony DWI lawyer fights for your rights and protects your interests.
Reach out to the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg to get started on your defense. Give us a call today at (214) 696-9253 for a free consultation.
We Want You to Understand Your Circumstances
We will search for every potential area where the arresting officer could have made an error or a biased decision when detaining you, testing your breath, documenting your intoxication levels, or interacting with you and getting you in the system at the jail in which you may have been placed.
It is not mandatory to submit to a field sobriety test or a roadside breath test. However, if you did refuse, you had to surrender your license. If you are later convicted, your license may be revoked (depending on whether you are found to have been intoxicated).
DWI laws are multifaceted, and penalties vary from region to region, so without a legal representative, you might not be aware of your options. A lawyer can help you negotiate a deal with the prosecutor. They may also have prior knowledge of the judge that will decide your case. We can utilize our knowledge of your judge’s record to determine if they may rule in your favor.
For a free legal consultation with a Felony DWI Lawyer serving Mesquite, call (214) 696-9253
Contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg
During your initial consultation, our lawyer will provide answers to any queries you might have. We can tell you what transpires after you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer, whether the suspension of your license takes effect immediately after your DWI arrest, and what the cost of a DWI charge is likely to be.
Our entire team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg is dedicated to helping people facing felony DWI charges in Texas. Call today at (214) 696-9253 to speak to us for more information about driving while intoxicated felony charges. A Mesquite felony DWI lawyer may be able to help you.
Our managing partner, Attorney Randall Isenberg, spent his career as a prosecutor and a district judge. He is now a criminal defense lawyer committed to representing Texans’ rights in court. We want to help you fight for a fair and just future. Reach out today so we can begin. There may be timelines that limit how long you have to take action. Our team is waiting to hear from you. We offer all clients a free consultation.