Being arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) under the definitions of the Texas Department of Transportation can be one of the most frightening and life-changing experiences you can have. The consequences of a DWI conviction can affect your life in many ways, now and in the future. If you have been arrested and charged with DWI in Mesquite, TX, speak with a DWI reduction lawyer at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253 for a free case evaluation and learn more about how we can help you.
The Administrative License Revocation Hearing
If you are arrested and your driver’s license is confiscated, you are issued a temporary license. At that point, the Texas Department of Public Safety states that you automatically have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing to try to keep your license active. At this hearing, an administrative law judge will hear evidence regarding whether you should be able to keep your driver’s license or have it revoked or suspended.
Although this is a civil hearing and not a criminal one, your DWI reduction lawyer in Mesquite will get an opportunity to hear what evidence the prosecution has against you and interview the arresting officer in your case. Your attorney can then begin to build a strategic defense against your DWI charge from the information he or she gains at the ALR hearing. Contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253 for a free case evaluation as soon as possible to hear how we can help you with a DWI in Mesquite, TX.
Penalties and Fines for DWI in Texas
According to Texas Penal Code – Title 10 – Chapter 49, penalties and fines for a DWI conviction can be steep. From thousands of dollars in fines, loss of your driver’s license, mandatory enrollment at a substance abuse treatment facility, having a permanent criminal record, and even mandatory jail time, a DWI in Texas will affect your life for years after your arrest and conviction. In addition, if there are aggravating circumstances to your charges, such as having a minor under 15 years of age in the vehicle, or an open container of alcohol, you will face stiffer penalties.
If this is your first offense and you are convicted of DWI, you may face:
- A fine of up to $2,000
- There is no mandatory minimum jail time, but you may face 3 to 180 days.
- Loss of your driver’s license for up to 1 year
- An annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for 3 years to keep your driver’s license
- A class B misdemeanor on your record
If this is your second offense and you are convicted of a DWI, you may face:
- A fine of up to $4,000
- There is a minimum of 72 hours of jail time, which may be extended to a month to 1 year
- Loss of your driver’s license for up to two years
- An annual fee of between $1,000 and $2,000 for three years to keep your driver’s license
- A class A misdemeanor on your record
- The installation of an ignition interlock breathalyzer switch in your car to prevent you from driving while intoxicated
With the consequences of a conviction being so severe, having a Mesquite DWI reduction attorney in your corner who understands the DWI process in Texas is to your advantage.
How a DWI Reduction Lawyer Can Help
A DWI reduction lawyer in Mesquite may give you the opportunity to have your DWI charge reduced or entirely dismissed. Reduced charges may mean that your fines and penalties will be lower. You may be able to plead to a reduced charge such as a class A misdemeanor instead of a felony. You may be able to keep your license instead of it being suspended.
Your DWI reduction lawyer will know how to petition the court and negotiate with the prosecution to lessen the charges against you. If there were mistakes made during your arrest, while the breathalyzer test was being administered, or even in how the test samples were stored, your attorney will know how to help you get the best outcome possible.
Mesquite DWI Reduction Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
Find the Right Lawyer Today
The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg are waiting to help you. Attorney Randall Isenberg is a criminal defense attorney who has over 30 years of experience as both a judge and a prosecutor. He understands Texas DWI law from all sides. Call us today at (214) 696-9253 for a free case evaluation if you have been charged with DWI in Mesquite, TX.