A DUI and DWI in Texas are two different charges, though the penalties for DWI are often stiffer. In Texas, both are serious charges that can impact your life for years to come.
DWI and DUI charges have escalating consequences based on the number of violations, which means the penalties for your second DUI or DWI will be higher than your first offense. Extenuating circumstances, such as having a child or an open container in the car, can result in more severe penalties.
If you are facing a DWI or DUI charge in Texas, you may be overwhelmed by the legal process and worried about your future. The team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg can review your situation and fight to protect your future. Call our criminal defense team today at (214) 696-9253 to discuss your DUI or DWI charge in Texas.
What is the Difference Between a DUI and DWI Charge in Texas?
Most states use the terms DWI (driving while intoxicated) and DUI (driving under the influence) interchangeably. That is not the case in the state of Texas.
First, to determine which DUI or DWI is worse in Texas for your circumstances, understand that individuals under the age of 21 who are found to have any alcohol in their system while operating a vehicle may be charged with a DUI. An individual (under or over the age of 21) suspected of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of higher than .08 is generally charged with a DWI.
Penalties You Might Face After a DUI or DWI Charge in Texas
For a first time DWI offense, the punishment may include between three days and six months in jail, however, there is no minimum required jail time. You may also face up to $2,000 in fines, lose your driver’s license for up to a year, and be required to complete alcohol safety courses.
Additional DWI offense penalties may include a longer jail sentence, longer license suspensions, and up to $10,000 in fines. Two or more DWI convictions within five years may result in the installation of a DUI ignition lock.
For a first time DUI penalty, the punishment may include up to $500 in fines, loss of driver’s license for up to 60 days, between 20 and 40 hours of community services, and a required alcohol safety course.
A DWI or DUI conviction can place serious limitations on your future. Contact the DWI defense team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253 to discuss your case.
For a free legal consultation, call (214) 696-9253
Possible Defense Strategies for a Texas DUI or DWI Charge
A DUI or DWI in Texas can have long-lasting impacts on your life, including making it difficult to get to work, find a job, and even continue your education.
For this reason, we strongly recommend working with a legal team that understands the Texas legal process and is prepared to fight for your future. Depending on the details of your DUI or DWI case, your DWI lawyer may pursue one of the following strategies.
- Improper police stop
- Failure of police to properly administer a field sobriety test
- Improper BAC testing procedures
- Failure to maintain or calibrate a breathalyzer device
- A medical condition that creates the appearance of intoxication
- Violation of procedures or civil rights
- Reckless driving (aka wet reckless) plea deal
While these defenses are often used to fight DUI and DWI convictions, your DWI attorney may offer additional options to reduce or eliminate the charges you are facing.
Contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg for Legal Assistance With Your DUI or DWI
DUI and DWI charges can have serious, life-altering consequences. Choosing a Texas DUI or DWI attorney is not a decision you should take lightly. You want a committed legal team who is willing to fight to lower the charges you are facing, if possible.
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we fight hard for the rights and future of all our clients. Our team will work to build a strong defense and reduce the impact these charges have on your life, if possible. To understand whether DUI or DWI is worse in Texas and help with your case, contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253.