Weapon Offense Lawyer in Richardson
Conviction for an illegal firearms or weapons charge can send you to jail or even prison. You will face significant fines, the potential for a permanent criminal record, and you will likely forfeit your right to own or possess a firearm again. If the prosecutor adds a weapon offense on top of another criminal charge, such as assault, it can potentially add years to your sentence.
A weapon offense lawyer in Richardson can help. With more than three decades in the Texas criminal justice system, Randall Isenberg understands how important it is to move quickly and aggressively to protect your legal rights — and your Constitutional right to bear arms.
For a free consultation, contact us today at 214-696-9253.
Richardson Weapon Offense Charges & Penalties
Despite our state’s relatively lenient gun laws, the statutes impose significant penalties for violating them. In fact, you face the potential for jail or prison time for almost all weapon offenses in Richardson — even something as seemingly minor as the accidental discharge of a gun in public.
Although the consequences you face will depend on the facts of your case, some examples and their associated penalties include the following.
Possession of metal knuckles: class A misdemeanor
Up to 365 days in jail
Possession of an illegal firearm: third-degree felony
Up to 10 years in prison
Possession of a tire deflation device: state jail felony
Up to 2 years in state jail
If you have a criminal record, or if the prosecutor pursues multiple charges or aggravating circumstances, you could face penalties that are considerably harsher — including the potential for life in prison.
In addition to any potential monetary fines and jail time, you will also face the possibility of community supervision (supervised probation) and community service. You must also pay all court costs and fees.
Finally, a weapon offense conviction goes on your permanent criminal record. This can affect your ability to get a job, rent a house, and hold many types of professional licenses. And, upon conviction for a felony, you can lose your legal right to own or carry a gun, or even get a hunting license.
A Weapon Offense Lawyer Will Fight for Your Future
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we defend clients on both the state and federal level, for unlawful carry, sale or distribution, fraudulent purchase, concealed weapon offenses, possession in a restricted area, and more.
We know how serious weapon offense charges are and how potentially frightening and confusing this experience can be. We are here to help.
We Ensure You Understand What You Are Up Against
We will ensure you understand what these charges mean for you and help you explore your options. We will protect your legal rights and put our extensive network of resources to work on your behalf. We will mount an aggressive defense and work tirelessly to achieve the best possible outcome in your case.
We Investigate Your Arrest and Detainment as Well as Law Enforcement’s Evidence-Gathering Process
We will scrutinize the facts to determine whether the police violated your rights or failed to maintain proper chain of custody for evidence. We will use any potential problems to dispute the validity of the charges and negotiate for reduced charges or even a dismissal.
We Use Our Experience to Help You
Randall Isenberg’s experience as a state district court judge and chief felony prosecutor provides unique insight into how the Texas criminal justice system works. We use this unique insight to anticipate the other side’s next move and stand ready to fight for your future and your freedom.
Texas Weapon Offense Charges Explained
The Texas Penal Code (TPC) details the weapon offense statutes, both for firearms and other deadly weapons. However, it is the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) that sets forth the rules governing handgun licensing.
The highlights of the statutes are as follows.
The statutes prohibit the possession, transportation, manufacturing, repair, or sale of:
- Machine guns
- Short barrel rifles (<16 inches)
- Short barrel shotguns (<18 inches)
- Armor-piercing ammunition
- Explosives and bombs
- Simulated explosives and bombs
- Chemical weapons
- Switchblade knives
- Metal “knuckles”
- Improvised (zip) guns
The statutes prohibit you from possessing a firearm if you:
- Are under the age of 18;
- Are subject to a current restraining order;
- Have a previous conviction for domestic violence;
- Have been confined or under supervision for a felony conviction in the last five years;
- Are a member of a known street gang;
- Are otherwise legally prohibited from owning a gun; or
- Are committing a crime.
Even with a license to carry a concealed handgun, you cannot carry a weapon in the following locations.
- Polling place (active)
The prosecutor can pursue aggravated or additional charges if you have a weapon in your possession while you commit an assault, kidnapping, sexual assault, or robbery. You will also face additional penalties if you provided a firearm to a minor, a person subject to an order of protection, a person who is intoxicated, or a person who cannot legally possess a firearm, or a person you know intends to use the weapon in the commission of a crime.
Call for a Free Consultation with a Weapon Offense Lawyer in Richardson
Because a conviction on a state or federal weapon offense carries the threat of severe penalties, having a criminal defense lawyer on your side can help protect your future. This is especially true if you have prior convictions or if you face multiple charges.
Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today. We offer free consultations to allow you to learn more about your options and make an informed decision for your future. If you cannot come to us, we will come to you: 214-696-9253.