If you are facing a charge of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you may be at a loss when it comes to your criminal defense options. Yet, you do not have to undergo this frightening legal process alone. A Mesquite first-offense DWI lawyer can evaluate the circumstances of your arrest and strategize a plan of action on your behalf. At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we provide representation for those who have been charged with a DWI. Not only can we address your concerns throughout the legal process, but also take measures to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed.
To get started with a free case review, call us today at (214) 696-9253.
Understanding DWI Laws in Texas
Under Texas Penal Code §49.04, driving under the influence of alcohol is illegal. A DWI, with no co-occurring charges, is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. You may have been asked to give a blood or breathalyzer test when you were pulled over. These tools are designed to measure someone’s intoxication level. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08%, you were considered to be legally intoxicated. However, if your results came back .15% or higher, not only were you legally intoxicated, but the charges against you escalate to a Class A misdemeanor.
According to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), if your DWI is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, you could face:
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Anywhere from three to 180 days in jail
- The loss of your driver’s license for up to a year
The consequences of a DWI increase with each subsequent charge. Right now, as you are facing criminal charges, you do not want to have your plans for the future jeopardized. For that reason, we encourage you to call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today. To get started, call (214) 696-9253.
Co-Occurring Charges in a DWI Case
Some aggravating factors for a first time DWI offense may increase the penalties against you. For example, driving while intoxicated with a passenger who under the age of 15 years old could result in severe consequences. In this situation, not only could you be charged with a DWI, but also child endangerment. If there was an open container at the time of your arrest that contained an alcoholic beverage, you are required to serve a six-day mandatory jail sentence, according to the Texas Penal Code.
Long-term consequences can also arise following a first-time DWI conviction. One of the most important aspects of your case is that if you are convicted of a DWI, your record can never be sealed. Your conviction could follow you for the rest of your life, coming up on background checks when you apply for employment and residential opportunities.
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we understand that every day, people make mistakes that could change their life. A Mesquite first-offense DWI lawyer can review the evidence in your case, comb through the specifics of criminal law, and work to protect your future. For a free consultation, call today.
For a free legal consultation with a First Offense DWI Lawyer serving Mesquite, call (214) 696-9253
The Administrative License Revocation Process
Right now, you could be dealing with the ramifications of a suspended license.
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), this could be a reality in your case if:
- You refused to take a blood or breath test.
- You were pulled over while driving a passenger vehicle, took a blood or breath test, and your results were .08% or higher.
- You were pulled over while driving a commercial vehicle, took a blood or breath test, and your results were .04% or higher.
You have 15 days from the date you receive notice of your suspended license to request a hearing to reinstate your driving privileges. This is known as the administrative license revocation (ALR) process.
Your Mesquite first-offense DWI lawyer can walk you through these proceedings and fight to have your license reinstated while the charges against you are pending. There are many actions that must be performed within various deadlines. To learn more about what they are, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today.
Mesquite First Offense DWI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
Possible Defenses Against DWI Charges in Texas
The ultimate goal of your legal team is to take measures that have the charges against you reduced or dismissed. The services they render in your situation will rest on the charges against you, the nature of your crime, and your criminal record.
Some defensive strategies your lawyer can employ on your behalf include:
- Lack of probable cause. Your lawyer may be able to argue that the evidence in your case does not support the allegations against you.
- Improper test administration. If the blood or breathalyzer test was conducted improperly or yielded misleading results, your lawyer can work to have this piece of evidence thrown out.
- Your sobriety. You may not have been drunk at the time of your arrest. Even if you were drinking earlier in the day, if you were not legally intoxicated at the time of your arrest, the charges against you could be dropped.
Your lawyer can advise you on additional defense strategies that we have not included here.
Click to contact our First Offense DWI Lawyers today
Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg Today
If you have been charged with a first-time DWI offense, the first thing you should do is consider legal representation. At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, our goal is to provide a criminal defense that promotes your future and wellbeing. Our lead attorney and founding partner, Randall B. Isenberg, has over 30 years’ experience as a former prosecutor, state district judge, and now as a criminal defense lawyer. He understands the nature of a first-time DWI charge and imparts this knowledge to his legal team.
While an arrest due to a DWI offense can be frightening, working with a Mesquite first-offense DWI lawyer can help ease some of your worries. Call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253 for more information.