In Texas, you could be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) if:
- You provide a breath or blood sample that registers your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at .08% or greater.
- You refuse to provide a breath or blood sample to a law enforcement officer who suspects you of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
According to Texas Penal Code §49.04(b), a first-offense DWI is generally considered a Class B misdemeanor. Yet, there are several factors that may increase the seriousness of your charge. One of the most important things to note is that if you are charged and convicted of a DWI offense, your record can never be sealed. That means your conviction could follow you for the rest of your life. It can be never be expunged from your record, no matter how much time has passed.
If you are interested in how an Arlington first-offense DWI lawyer may assist in your defense, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253.
Drinking and Driving in Texas Is Higher Than the National Average
Regardless of whether you were credibly or falsely charged with a DWI, statistics show that rates of drinking and driving in Texas are above the national average. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), rates of self-reported drinking and driving, as well as drunk driving-related deaths, are higher in Texas than compared to other states.
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated in Texas, you are not the first person to face the charge, nor will you be the last. Being faced with a DWI conviction is a serious matter. To promote your future, you may want to consider how an Arlington first-offense DWI lawyer can assist in your defense.
The Possible Consequences of a DWI Conviction
As we mentioned earlier, the Texas Penal Code notes that a first-time conviction for a DWI is generally considered a Class B misdemeanor. However, if your actions resulted in a collision that injured other people, you could be facing a felony charge.
The Texas Department of Transportation reports that the penalties that come with a first-time DWI conviction can include:
- A fine not exceeding $2,000
- Anywhere from three to 180 days in jail
- The loss of your driver’s license for up to a year
Additionally, the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) outlines other consequences that may come from a first-offense DWI conviction.
They may include:
- Mandatory attendance at an alcohol education program, which could last at least 12 hours
- Instatement of a probationary period, which may be ordered in addition to or in lieu of a fine or jail time
- Having to pay a substantial fee to have your license reinstated
- Installation of a device in your vehicle that prevents the vehicle from starting if the device registers signs of alcohol on your breath
The possible imposition of these consequences may be at the discretion of a judge or may be part of any plea agreement that you reach. While you can represent yourself, an Arlington first-offense DWI lawyer can take certain measures to promote your case. To get started with a free consultation, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253.
Secondary Consequences of a DWI Conviction
In addition to the penalties instated by the state of Texas, you could be facing obstacles in regard to your personal and professional life.
Some of the hurdles you may run into after serving your legal sentence include:
- Significantly higher premiums for automobile insurance
- Difficulty obtaining gainful employment
- Difficulty obtaining a mortgage and other forms of financial assistance
- Difficulty obtaining housing
- Harm to your reputation, which could hurt your standing in society, family court, and other facets of your life
- Your conviction showing up on a background check
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we believe that one mistake should not define the trajectory of your life. During this stressful time, our goal is to provide legal representation that has the charges against you dropped or reduced. We encourage you to give our team a call today so that you can learn more about your legal options.
Arlington First Offense DWI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
How an Arlington First-Offense DWI Lawyer Can Help You
Your lawyer will begin preparing your defense by reviewing the details of your case. There are various forms of evidence that could, in the end, work to benefit your situation. For example, if you were not read your Miranda rights and revealed information that could be later used to incriminate you, your lawyer can fight to have these statements invalidated.
Additionally, if you were pulled over, and there was no probable cause to do so, your lawyer can also factor this information into your defense.
Some specific ways that a lawyer can work to promote your case’s success include:
- Assessing your case based on your personal account and any available evidence
- Independently collecting evidence that could be used in the reduction of charges or an acquittal
- Providing an assessment of likely or realistic outcomes of your case
- Suggesting a legal course of action
- Negotiating for a plea deal
- Putting forth an argument as to why you should be found not guilty
- Defending your rights throughout the legal process
A lawyer can also address any questions or concerns you have throughout the litigation proceedings.
Click to contact our First Offense DWI Lawyers today
The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg Can Build a Case in Your Defense
Lead attorney Randall B. Isenberg has more than 30 years’ experience as a former prosecutor and state district judge, and now as a criminal defense attorney. Call our team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253 to learn how we help fight against your pending DWI charge.