If you have wondered, can you travel in a car without a license, you should know it is illegal to drive without a valid license in the state of Texas (per the Texas Driver Handbook of theTexas Department of Public Safety). The penalties for driving without a valid license may include:
- A fine of up to $200
- An additional fine of up to $200 if you are convicted twice in 1 year
If you are determined to be driving despite the fact that your license has been revoked, suspended, or otherwise explicitly restricted, then you could face further legal consequences.
Can You Travel in a Car Without a License? Know the Requirements
Sec. 521.001 of the Texas Transportation Code outlines several of the requirements that drivers on Texas’ roads have, as it pertains to their driver’s license. If you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer, then you must:
- Have your license on you
- Have a license that is valid for the type of vehicle you are driving at the time of your interaction with a law enforcement officer
- Show the law enforcement officer your license upon their request, which generally occurs during a traffic stop
If you are unable or unwilling to produce a valid license at the time of your interaction with a law enforcement officer, then you could be subject to legal consequences.
Driving Without a License Can Cause Legal Headaches
Sec. 521.001 of the Texas Transportation Code categorizes a driver’s license as:
- A temporary license or learner license
- An occupational license
You must have one of these to operate a vehicle legally on the roads of Texas. If you are pulled over and found not to have a valid license, then you could be subject to various legal penalties that you would likely want to avoid. Along with the penalties for a first and second conviction for driving without a license, you could also face further penalties for Driving While License is Invalid (DWLI), per the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
According to the Texas Politics Project, if you are convicted of a Class B misdemeanor, then you could be subject to:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Continued suspension or revocation of your license
In order to have your license reinstated after a conviction for DWLI, you may:
- Wait for the period of suspension to expire
- Pay a reinstatement fine, which could be $100
- Obtaining further documentation necessary to reinstate your license (per DPS)
You could face aggravating circumstances for driving without a license if:
- You were also driving without valid insurance
- You were involved in an accident
- You were involved in an accident that resulted in bodily injury
If these or other circumstances coincided with a charge of driving without a license, then you may face greater fines and a longer period of confinement.
A Lawyer May Attempt to Have Your Charge Reduced or Dismissed
There are many circumstances that may have led to you driving without a license. Some of the possible reasons for being without a license include:
- You forgot your license or wallet when you left your previous location
- Your license expired and you were unaware
- Your license was suspended but you were unaware of the suspension
Sometimes a misunderstanding or genuine mistake can lead to you being charged with an offense related to you not having a valid license. Regardless of the circumstances that led to you being charged with driving without a license, a lawyer may attempt to have your charge reduced or dismissed.
Some additional ways that a lawyer may assist you include:
- Conducting a free consultation to collect the facts of your case from your perspective
- Collecting documentation—such as police reports—pertaining to your arrest
- Explaining to you the possible options for your case
- Speaking with the prosecutor and judge in your case to see if a reduced plea agreement is available to you
- If you choose, fighting your case in court
- Handling all the legal duties necessary to complete the legal process
- Defending your rights
A lawyer will attempt to come to an agreement with a prosecutor that minimizes the possible punishments you could face, or will attempt to shed light on reasonable doubt during a trial. If they are successful, then you may have your driving without a license or related charge reduced or dismissed.
Call Our Team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg Today
Lead attorney Randall B. Isenberg has more than thirty years’ experience as a former state district judge and prosecutor. Our team will work to help you minimize the harm of the charge that you are facing.
Call our team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253 for a free consultation.
Call or text (214) 696-9253 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form