You can avoid jail time after a second DUI. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS), a second DUI conviction can carry the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $500
- Up to 60 hours of community service
- Suspension of your driving privileges for up to 2 years.
- Attendance at an alcohol awareness course
A lawyer can help you understand the laws around DUIs and your options for avoiding penalties after a second DUI charge.
Driving Under the Influence in Texas
A minor (anyone under 21) driving with any amount of alcohol in their system can receive a DUI charge.
A DUI conviction can have a significantly negative impact on anyone, particularly because the offender is so young and has just begun their life. They may be unable to get a job and they could also face sanctions at school.
If you were driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, you can receive a DWI charge. While a second DUI will not net you jail time, a second DWI can.
You Can Request a Hearing to Get Your License Back
In Texas, you can face criminal penalties for driving under the influence that include conviction, fees, and community service. You can also face civil penalties that include losing your driver’s license, which can complicate your day-to-day life.
When you were pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence, the attending law enforcement official likely asked you to take a breath or blood test to examine the concentration of alcohol in your bloodstream. Regardless of whether or not you took the test, you could face a license suspension.
Essentially, you have within 15 days of your driver’s license suspension to request a hearing to get your driving privileges back. Because the deadline for applying is short, you should speak to a lawyer regarding your options for getting your driving privileges restored. If you fail to request an ALR hearing, your driver’s license could be suspended.
Speaking with a lawyer can help you understand your options and avoid penalties following a second DUI charge.
Preserve Your Driving Privileges
Having a driver’s license is a cherished rite of passage for many teenagers and a daily necessity for many adults. Multiple DUI convictions can have far-reaching repercussions for you and your family.
A DUI conviction can:
- Prevent you from driving for a rideshare company
- Force you to pay increased insurance rates to maintain SR-22 insurance
- Negatively impact your career—especially if your job requires a commercial driver license (CDL)
You do not have to accept a DUI without a fight. At the same time, an arrest for driving under the influence does not have to lead to a conviction. With the guidance of a lawyer, you may be able to fight a DUI charge, hold on to your driver’s license, and avoid other penalties.
Contact a Member of Our Team if You Are Facing a Second DUI
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we understand what a stressful time you are going through and want to put our years of experience to work on your behalf.
While you can avoid jail time after a second DUI, there are other penalties to concern yourself with. You have options to alleviate the stressors of your situation. Depending on the circumstances of your case, a lawyer may be able to lessen the charges against you or reduce your sentencing.
When you receive your free initial case review, our team is interested in learning more about your situation so we can determine a course of action for helping you. Our goal is to provide honest and deliberate representation to those who need it.
To get started, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg at (214) 696-9253.
Call or text (214) 696-9253 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form