You are likely wondering how long your license gets suspended for in Texas for a DWI. Usually, your first DWI conviction would result in a year of license suspension. Every DWI arrest automatically triggers an administrative revocation, which is separate from the criminal case against you.
In addition, it is possible to face multiple criminal suspensions if you are convicted of multiple charges. For example, you could face a suspension if you refused a blood or breath test in addition to your DWI suspension.
To learn more, reach out to the Texas DWI defense team from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today by calling (214) 696-9253.
A DWI Arrest Comes With an Automatic License Revocation
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, the first way a DWI arrest could affect your driving privileges is through the administrative license revocation (ALR). An arrest for DWI automatically triggers this type of revocation, and you only have a short time to appeal it before it goes into effect.
Drivers over the age of 21 will face an ALR that lasts:
- 180 days for a first offense of refusing to provide a blood or breath test specimen
- Two years if you have a previous conviction for refusing testing, DWI, felony DWI, intoxication assault, or intoxication manslaughter
- 90 days for a first offense if you fail a breath or blood test, testing at or above 0.08
- One year if you have a previous related conviction
Drivers under the legal drinking age who receive a driving under the influence (DUI) ticket may face an ALR that includes:
- 60 days for the first offense
- 120 days for a second offense
It is important to note that your ALR is separate from any suspensions or penalties you may need to serve as a result of your criminal case. Your ALR will go into effect quickly following your arrest unless we take action to request a hearing and fight this revocation.
License Suspension as a Criminal Penalty Following a Texas DWI Conviction
License suspensions are a standard part of most sentences following an implied consent, DWI, felony DWI, intoxication assault, or intoxication manslaughter conviction. Other related crimes, such as boating while intoxicated (BWI), may also result in a license suspension.
In general, the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) explains the length of suspension you can expect following a conviction:
- 1st offense: Loss of driver’s license for up to a year
- 2nd offense: Loss of driver’s license for up to two years
- 3rd offense: Loss of driver’s license for up to two years
As previously mentioned, however, you could face more than one charge stemming from the same arrest. If you refused to take a breath or blood test and still got convicted of DWI, for example, you could face a suspension for both the implied consent (refusal) and the DWI. You could also face both DWI and intoxication assault charges if you caused an injury accident while driving drunk.
Our team can help you understand how long you might be without your license following a DWI arrest and will fight to limit this time by representing you during your ALR hearing and your criminal case. We understand how important your driving privileges are to you.
For a free legal consultation, call (214) 696-9253
The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg Can Help You Understand the Consequences You May Face
Texas DWI defense attorney Randy Isenberg has more than 30 years of experience in the state’s criminal courts. He served as a prosecutor, an assistant district attorney, a chief felony prosecutor, and a state district judge. More recently, his practice has been dedicated to protecting the rights of those facing criminal charges.
He knows what it takes to prove a DWI, felony DWI, or related case. Randy can explain how long your license gets suspended for in Texas for a DWI. He will gather evidence, question blood or breath testing procedures and results, work with forensic experts, and take other actions to help clear your name or reduce the penalties you face.
Let the team from the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg review your case and explain the possible outcomes for you today. Call (214) 696-9253 now, and we can go to work for you immediately.
Talk to a Texas DWI Criminal Defense Attorney
If the police arrested you for a drunk driving offense in Texas, you will likely face an automatic license suspension, and you could face additional suspensions as a result of your criminal case. Let the team from Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg help you limit the impact of your arrest on your everyday life.
Call (214) 696-9253 now to get started.