Depending on the circumstances of your charges, your license may be suspended for a DUI under 21 in Texas between 60 days and 18 months. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS), if you are under the age of 21 and are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), you could have your license suspended for one year. However, if you are convicted of subsequent drinking and driving-related offenses, you could have your license suspended for up to 18 months.
There are many factors that could influence the period of your license suspension. For example, if you caused an accident, were driving with an open container, or were previously convicted of a DUI, your license may be suspended for a longer period of time. Additionally, you may be compelled to take an alcohol education course or install an ignition interlock device into your vehicle.
If you or a loved one is currently facing a DUI charge in Texas, you should consider the value of partnering with a criminal defense attorney. They can work to minimize the negative impact of a DUI on your record.
Additional Information Regarding Texas DUI License Suspension
The state of Texas has zero-tolerance for underage drinking and driving. Texas Alcohol and Beverage Code § 106.04 notes that any motorist under the age of 21 with any detectable quantity of alcohol in their system has committed an offense.
A DUI refers to underage drinking and driving, and this is considered a Class 3 misdemeanor. For this offense, there are separate charges from a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge. Any alcohol detected in an underage driver’s system will subject them to criminal charges. The specific charges, as well as the length of license suspension, will be determined based on the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level.
If the driver is found to have a BAC between the range of 0.01% and 0.079%, they will be charged with a DUI. This offense will force them to face a license suspension of 60 days. However, if their BAC level is higher than 0.08%, they could have their license suspended anywhere from 90 days to a year, per the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).
Regaining Driving Privileges After a DUI in Texas
After learning how long your license will be suspended for a DUI under 21, you may want to take action to get your driving privileges restored.
For minors to renew or have their driver licenses reissued, the following steps must be completed, per the TxDPS:
- The minor must serve the suspension period that has been ordered.
- The minor must acquire a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22), which must be issued by an authorized insurance company. This certificate must be maintained for two years, beginning from the conviction date.
- They must pay the reinstatement fee of $100, along with all other fees that may be required.
A Dallas, Texas criminal defense lawyer may be able to provide more guidance regarding how you can get your driving privileges restored following a DUI conviction.
For a free legal consultation, call (214) 696-9253
Secondary Consequences of a Texas DUI Conviction
A DUI charge can have many negative effects on your life. A DUI conviction can hamper your ability to secure financial aid for college, resulting in the loss of scholarships, and even get you expelled from your college or university. Furthermore, it can make it difficult to find a job in the future. You may also face increased car insurance premiums for years to come.
A lawyer may be able to provide assistance that helps lessen the severity of these consequences. Seeking legal counsel may be able to help you avoid some of the penalties that come along with a DUI conviction. With this information in mind, it may be helpful to discuss your case with a legal professional.
How a Lawyer Can Assist You
Due to the consequences that you may face if you are convicted of a DUI, working with a lawyer may prove to be helpful in various ways. An attorney can evaluate your case and help you better understand your circumstances.
Additionally, they can:
- Review the evidence that the prosecutor’s office has against you
- Determine if your BAC level test results were accurate
- Interview witnesses to your arrest to determine if it was properly conducted
- Help restore your driving privileges
Furthermore, a Texas DUI attorney may be able to work towards getting your penalties reduced or even having your case dismissed entirely.
Get Help with Your DUI Under 21 Case
Contact the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253 to learn more about how we may be able to help you with your or your child’s DUI charge. We will aim to secure a just outcome for you or your child.