If you were arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Lewisville, the team at the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg is here to help. The personal and professional impact of a DWI conviction can be limited with the assistance of a Lewisville DWI reduction lawyer.
We help people who have been arrested for a DWI avoid:
- Losing their driving privileges
- Losing employment opportunities
- Losing educational opportunities
- Having a criminal record
When you get in touch with our law firm today, we can explain how we can help you avoid permanent damage to your driving record and reputation. You can call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg by dialing (214) 696-9253.
DWI Penalties in Lewisville
If you are over the age of 21 in Texas and are found to be driving while intoxicated, you can be charged with a DWI. Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) is usually reserved for people under the age of 21. However, under specific circumstances, an underage driver can also be charged with a DWI.
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) says:
- For a first-time offense, you can face a fine of up to $2,000, 3 to 180 days in jail, and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 1 year.
- For a second-time offense, you could face a fine of up to $4,000, 1 month to a year in jail, and the suspension of your driver’s license for up to 2 years.
- For a third-time offense, you could face a $10,000 fine, 2 to 10 years in prison, and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 2 years.
There may have been additional circumstances surrounding the details of your arrest. For instance, if there was an open alcohol container in your vehicle, then you can face a Class A misdemeanor charge. If you caused a collision while under the influence of alcohol, you can also face a felony charge. Additionally, if you caused an accident, that means your criminal record can never be sealed.
A Lewisville DWI reduction lawyer can help you avoid a DWI conviction and its resulting permanent damage on your record. You can get in touch with the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg by dialing (214) 696-9253.
We Can Fight the Suspension of Your Driver’s License
Upon being pulled over by the police on suspicion of drunk driving, you may be asked to submit to a field sobriety test. They may also ask you to give a breath, blood, or urine sample to test your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level.
According to Texas Transportation Code § 724.015, you can refuse to submit to a BAC test, but doing so means your license will be automatically suspended for 180 days. If you submit to have your BAC level tested, and it is higher than the legal limit of 0.08%, your license will be automatically suspended for 90 days.
Our team can help you fight the automatic suspension of your driver’s license by representing you at an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. The Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) notes that to be eligible for a hearing, you must submit your request within 15 days from the date you receive your suspension notice.
If you do not request an ALR hearing at all or file your request within the allotted time, your license will be automatically suspended on the 40th day from the date you received your suspension notice. You should consider calling the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg as soon as possible. Your case is time-sensitive, and we want to get started working on it as soon as we can.
Your BAC Level Can Be Tested without Your Consent
You can usually refuse to submit to a test of your BAC level. Yet, in certain conditions, the police can make consenting to a BAC test mandatory even without your consent.
According to Texas Transportation Code § 724.012, the police can compel you to take a BAC test if you are suspected of drunk driving and:
- You caused a car accident that resulted or will result in the death of another person
- You were involved in a car accident that caused serious physical injuries to another person
- Someone other than the driver has suffered bodily injury and needs to go to the hospital
- A minor child was a passenger in your car when you were pulled over
- You have at least two prior convictions for DWI-related offenses
- You have one prior conviction for either intoxication assault or manslaughter
If your BAC level is tested and found to exceed the legal limit, our team can challenge the accuracy of your test results.
Lewisville DWI Reduction Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
Methods We Use for DWI Reduction
If you were arrested on suspicion of a DWI and are subsequently convicted, you could face serious criminal and financial penalties. When you choose to partner with the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we will work hard to limit the negative impact of your arrest.
To minimize the damage of a DWI conviction, we will:
- Look for contradictions in the testimony against you
- Determine whether the evidence against you merits a conviction
- Challenge the calibration of BAC testing machinery and other testing equipment
- Negotiate with prosecutors for a reduction of the charges against you or for reduced sentencing on your current charges
You do not have to fight alone for a favorable outcome after a DWI arrest. If your case does go to trial, our team will work to defend your legal rights and fight for a reduction of the charges against you.
Click to contact our DWI Reduction Lawyers today
Get Started Protecting Your Future Today
When you are facing a DWI charge, you do not want to take any risks that could jeopardize your future. A Lewisville DWI reduction lawyer can work to have the charges against you dropped or reduced. To learn more, call the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg today at (214) 696-9253.
Call or text (214) 696-9253 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form