The state of Texas has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking. If you were recently arrested for driving while intoxicated, you could face serious penalties and fines. On your own, it can be difficult to understand your legal options, avoid the loss of your license, and prevent damage to your future. We can help.
Texas laws are designed to protect everyone on its roads. At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, our Hurst underage DWI attorney will explain how the law affects you as a young driver as well as the differences between a DWI and a DUI. Leave the legalities and intricacies of your case to us, so you can concentrate on building your future.
What You Need To Know About Texas’ Zero Tolerance Policy
Adult drivers in Texas over the age of 21 cannot drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. Drivers younger than 21 have far stricter restrictions and cannot drive after consuming any alcohol at all since its consumption is illegal.
According to Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) guidelines, underage drivers cannot:
- Purchase alcohol
- Try to purchase it
- Consume alcohol
- Possess alcohol
Any of these actions violate the law and can lead to serious legal consequences. The zero-tolerance law means you cannot drive a car or boat with any trace of alcohol in your system. If you are facing charges for such a violation, our Hurst criminal defense lawyer can fight to mitigate the state’s harshest penalties.
Potential Penalties and Fines for Underage DWI in Hurst
Underage drivers are typically charged with DUI (driving under the influence) rather than DWI. The state imposes more serious penalties on young drivers who are convicted of drinking while intoxicated (DWI). If you are a minor charged with the more serious crime of DWI, potential penalties can include:
- First offense: Up to $2,000 in fines, up to 180 days of jail time, and suspension of your driving privileges for up to a year. You may also be required to drive under supervision and with an ignition interlock device installed on your car.
- Second offense: Up to $4,000 in fines, up to a year of jail time, and suspension of your driving privileges for up to 18 months.
- Third offense: Up to $10,000 in fines, up to 10 years of imprisonment, and suspension of your driving privileges for up to 2 years.
These penalties do more than restrict your ability to get around. They also limit your freedom in your community and can impact potential employment opportunities. At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, our underage DWI attorney serving clients in Hurst will fight for you to avoid the most severe consequences.
Enhanced Charges That Could Affect Penalties and Fines
Various factors of your case could lead to enhanced charges that, in turn, lead to more severe penalties and higher fines. A felony can result in a fine of up to $10,000, up to 10 years of confinement, and a suspended license for up to a year.
You could face these enhanced penalties for the following offenses:
- Intoxication Assault
- Intoxication Manslaughter
- DWI with a passenger younger than 15 years old
These penalties could prevent you from continuing your education or getting a start on your career path. When our legal team represents you, we do everything we can to help you stay on track toward a brighter future.
The Benefits of Hiring Our DWI Lawyer to Represent You in Your Hurst, TX Case
When the state of Texas builds a case against you for underage DWI, it can be difficult to defend yourself without legal guidance and support. When our law firm accepts your case, we do all the following on your behalf:
- Carefully examine the state’s case and evidence
- Review the details of your traffic stop and arrest
- Review any potential violations of your rights
- Challenge BAC testing equipment and results
- Explore any possible plea arrangements
- Work to seal your criminal record
A lot is at stake in your case — your right to drive, your immediate and distant future, your criminal record, your reputation, and more. You do not have to fight to preserve it on your own.
How You Can Benefit From a Plea Bargain
A plea bargain is a mutually beneficial way of helping you avoid the uncertainty of a trial. Whenever possible, our underage DWI attorney will negotiate a plea on your behalf for:
- Lesser charges
- Lighter sentences
- Lower fines
Leave this process to our legal team. Randall B. Isenberg puts more than 30 years of experience and his career as a former prosecutor and state district judge to work for you.
Hurst Underage DWI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
Testimonials From Previous Clients of the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg
Driving while intoxicated cases are complex legal matters. When our previous clients talk about how we helped them navigate their cases, they say the following:
- Erick Thanks Randall for getting my charges reduced…I can’t tell you how much that means to me…and the experience has humbled me to be the best driver I can possibly be. I’ll be happy to refer your law firm to anyone wanting an outstanding attorney.
- Jennie: Randall B. Isenberg, P.C. Law Firm got me an acquittal! I thought [at] best my charges would be reduced. I never dreamed that even high-powered attorneys like Randall could get an acquittal! Thank you so much for rescuing me from this DUI hell!
Read additional reviews on our testimonials page and learn more about how we will use our knowledge, experience, and resources to combat the potential harm you face.
Contact Our Client-Focused Legal Team Now
Are you a driver under the age of 21 who was arrested for driving while intoxicated? We can help.
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we work hard to help you get a second chance and a fresh start. Contact one of our team members today to find out how hard our Hurst underage DWI attorney will go to bat for you.