Being convicted of a second offense DWI charge (Transporation Code, Chapter 724) in the state of Texas means you face the likelihood of significant fines, a loss of your driver’s license for an extended period, and jail time.
This charge is not something you should take lightly, nor should you just plead guilty immediately to try to put the matter behind you. Instead, look to hire a second offense DWI lawyer in Carrollton who knows the state statutes and can craft a defense strategy designed to lead to the best possible outcome for you.
The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg will work to protect your future by negotiating with prosecutors to have charges reduced or dismissed. A second offense DWI lawyer in Carrollton is ready to begin working on your behalf. Call us today at (214) 696-9253 for a free consultation.
Potential Second Offense DWI Penalties
When facing a charge of second-offense DWI, it is important for you to understand the exact penalties you are facing. Texas state law for driving while intoxicated says the potential penalties include:
- A maximum fine of $4,000
- Minimum jail time of 72 hours after conviction
- Overall jail time of between 30 days and 1 year
- Loss of your driver’s license for up to 2 years
Additionally, you could face harsher penalties for a second offense DWI if extenuating circumstances were present in your situation. The ways the charge could go from a Class A misdemeanor to a third-degree felony include:
- DWI with a child passenger, which can result in a fine up to $10,000 and up to 2 years in jail.
- DWI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 or higher, which can result in a fine up to $10,000 and 2 to 10 years in prison.
Extra Potential Penalties
Beyond the primary penalties we have listed above, you likely will have extra penalties and requirements you must follow after a second offense DWI conviction in Texas like:
- Undergoing supervised probation.
- Performing dozens of hours of community service.
- Attending court-ordered substance abuse counseling or rehabilitation program.
- Undergoing educational classes at your expense.
- Paying court costs.
- Paying to install a breath-testing ignition lock on all of your vehicles.
- Paying thousands of dollars to restore your driver’s license.
A conviction of a second offense DWI with an accident will be placed on your criminal record. This can affect your life tremendously even after you have served your sentence and met all of the court’s requirements, as you may have difficulty finding a job or renting an apartment. Some colleges may deny you admission with this charge on your record.
Should you plead guilty to this charge without thinking through all of your possible defense strategies, you could end up having your life changed forever. Do not rush into this decision without seeking advice from a DWI attorney.
Creating a Defense Strategy
At the Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg, we will lay out the exact penalties that you face with this charge so that you can make an informed choice on how to proceed. We will negotiate with prosecutors to seek a reduction or a dismissal in your charges, depending on the circumstances of your case.
Call us today at (214) 696-9253. You do not want to put off formulating a defense strategy. Law enforcement is working on your case, looking to secure a conviction. Consequently, you may want to hire a second offense DWI lawyer in Carrollton to start putting in the work on your defense plans.
Carrollton Second Offense DWI Lawyer Near Me (214) 696-9253
Let a Second Offense DWI Lawyer in Carrollton Protect Your Rights
Randall B. Isenberg has more than 30 years of experience working as a prosecutor and state district judge. Now that he has his own practice, he is ready to work on your behalf as a trusted second offense DWI lawyer in Carrollton.
The Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg will treat you with respect. When you hire us, we will delve into all aspects of law enforcement’s case against you, ensuring the proper procedures were followed. We will work tirelessly on your behalf. Call us today at (214) 696-9253 to discuss the facts in your case.